tech freedom

Apple Data Rescue | Let the Apple Rot

wood art apple iphone

How to archive your personal data from iCloud and then delete it from their servers

1) Sign in to appleid.apple.com on any device

  1. Click Data & Privacy > Manage your Data and Privacy > Get a Copy of Your Data > Get Started
  2. Click Select All at the bottom of the page
  3. Verify your ID with Apple, then they will sort and compile it all for you, once it is done, they will let you know, and you’ll have access for 2 weeks to download that archive.

2) After you are able to download that data, do the following to delete everything else from your account, then disable, and/or delete the account, once you are totally Free from Apple otherwise.

  1. Similarly to getting a copy of your data, the simplest way to delete it all (after you get the copy downloaded) is to Click Data & Privacy > Manage your Data and Privacy > Delete Your Account > Get Started
  2. Review the information regarding the deletion of your account.
    1. Apple will verify any deletion requests and says the process could take up to seven days to complete.
  3. Follow Apple’s recommended steps (back up your data, sign out of devices, etc.) before you delete your account.
  4. Choose a reason for deleting your account using the pull-down menu.
  5. Click Continue.
  6. Review the information regarding the deletion of your account (again).
  7. Click Continue.
  8. Review the Deletion Terms & Conditions and check the box to confirm you’ve read and agree with the conditions.
  9. Click Continue.
  10. Choose a contact method that will be used to get account status updates.
  11. Click Continue.
  12. Write down or print out your unique access code.
    1. This will be used to verify your identity if you need to contact Apple Support.
    2. This code can also be used to cancel the account deletion process.
  13. Enter the access code to confirm you’ve actually written it down.
  14. Click Continue.
  15. Click Delete account to delete your account and associated data.
  16. Apple will start the verification process before deleting your account.
    1. Your account will remain active during this period.
    2. It could take up to seven days for the verification process to complete.

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply

×
×

Cart